Cougars Cruise Past Beavers 44-20

BYU Becomes Bowl's Winningest Team

LAS VEGAS - Max Hall earned game MVP honors by passing for three touchdowns as BYU thumped Oregon State in the 2009 MAACO Bowl Las Vegas at Sam Boyd Stadium.

The Cougars, who came in as the highest-ranked team in the event's history at No. 14 in the coaches' poll, improved to 11-2 overall and became the first team to win three Las Vegas Bowls. BYU was making its fifth consecutive trip to the game and made the most of it, scoring 30 consecutive points after falling behind 7-0 in the first quarter.

Another sold-out crowd braved intense winds that gusted more than 55 miles per hour. The fans saw Hall complete his record-breaking college career by completing 19 of 30 pass attempts for 192 yards. His trio of TD strikes went to Luke Ashworth, All-American tight end Dennis Pitta and Manase Tonga.

OSU, who came in ranked as high as 16th in the polls, fell to 8-5 overall after being the first Pac-10 Conference team to ever come in to the annual event ranked.

Tied at 7 apiece, the game swung in BYU's favor when linebacker Matt Bauman picked up a fumbled backward pass and rumbled 34 yards for the go-ahead score.

First team Pac-10 QB Sean Canfield complete 19-40 passes for 168 yards and one interception.

Damola Adeniji led the Beavers with seven catches for 102 yards, including a late 31-yards scoring reception thrown by backup quarterback Ryan Katz with under three minutes on the clock.